We need to be able to scale patterns from Edit>Fill. Edit > Free Transform > Scale. I did it! Blog contents copyright © 2007-2018 - the contents of this blog including photographs may not be copied for any reason by anyone. In the image on the left, a layer is being scaled down in size. You will see a Scale slider and you can use this to scale the pattern to suit the image. Please feel free to add your comment here. I did it three years ago during college when looking at repeat patterns. I’ve been wondering how to do that for quite a while. So that when we fill with a pattern, we can scale it then. While it remains a pattern fill layer you can double click the layer and rescale the pattern if desired. It fills only what is selected. You will also find step by step guides for working creatively with your photos in Lightroom and Photoshop and any other cool applications I know you will be interested in knowing more about. I'm Helen Bradley - I'm a photographer and Photoshop professional. If I only want to fill a small section of the picture I found by selecting the shape then select the fill layer. Learn to draw gears and cogs in Illustrator, Draw a Cartoon Bird in Illustrator - Harness the Power of the Shape Builder Tool, Illustrator – Create a Wave Repeating Pattern, Turn any Jpeg image into a repeating pattern in Photoshop. For example, to make an image one-half of its original size. Instead, if you prefer to add your pattern in a scalable way, apply it using a fill layer. Online Privacy Policy. How do you use the pattern fill adjustment layer? Thank you for the easy to follow directions! Thank you! To do this, choose Layer > New Fill Layer > Pattern, click Ok and then select your pattern to fill the layer with. Edit > Content-Aware Scale Legal Notices . In this Photoshop and Lightroom blog you will find powerful Photoshop and Lightroom tips, tricks and techniques that will help you get more out of both programs. Thanks so much!! I use patterns a lot in Photoshop t